Skip to main content

Social Work Resources: Services

Resources for Social Work majors or anyone interested in social welfare, policy, and law.

Reference Works in Social Work

Encyclopedia of Social Work

 ....is now UNLIMITED access!  This new version is also updated more frequently. The print copy is [Ref] HV12 .e53 2008 and will remain in the Reference collection for a while longer.

 Social Worker's Desk Reference

 - It's a great resource, particularly for students needing intervention strategies, case management recommendations etc.  This Google Book version cannot print a page.  The library's print copy is in reference: [REF] HV40 .s6464 2009.

Film

Visit my other guides

Welcome to Social Work Guides

 These pages are meant to support research and investigation into the multidisciplinary field known as Social Work.

Welcome to the 2015-16 semester!

The librarian is available M-F 8-4 except Tuesdays 11-7.  There are times when I cover the reference desk so I am not always in my office.

If you are in the library and see my door open (Room 110) PLEASE COME IN.  You are welcome to chat/ask/lounge away if you so desire.  In addition, I am available via phone (732-2175 but please leave a message) or email (widner@edinboro.edu) OR by chat on this very page to the right. If it says "Welcome to libChat" then I'm on.  This chat is different from the library's home page, so bookmark this guide!  I also tweet occasionally @socworkwid.  See my social media page for those if you do not tweet.

You can always make an appointment to meet with me too.  I'm pretty flexible, so regardless of whether you are in Edinboro or at Porreco, we can find a mutual time that works.  give me a call, drop me a line, shout out a chat!

Online students do NOT have access to the Writing Center unless you visit in person!  We have libguides available for citation help, EBSCO database help, and if you get stuck, let me know and I'll try to help. Our FAQs might answer some common questions.

Check back often for updates, news and general shenanigans!

A new database for Social Work!  The Social Work Reference Center is an EBSCO product that "...provides a user-friendly point-of-care resource for social workers and other mental health professional. It contains the best available and most recent clinical evidence and information on conditions and diseases..."  As well, both Medline and CINAHL databases have been upgraded to "complete" editions meaning more citations and more full text.  You may also find the Nursing Reference Center to be of some use, especially in clinical areas.  All of these databases are not yet integrated into the Discovery module but will be by the first week of the fall semester.

Jack Chat

Special announcements

A first version for distance ed students' library orientation is now posted; see below.

A new helpguide listing online reference works

 


 

The EUP Social Work Department's home page.

The BSW Program at EUP.

The MSW Program at EUP.

The NASW Code of Ethics for Social Workers.

MSW Field Manual & Related Forms

Library Essentials

Library's Home Page (requires EUP login)|  Library Guide to everything

Find Books: PILOT, the Library's catalog

Renew your books

Library Hours

Library Important Numbers:

Reference: (814) 732-2253

Circulation: (814) 732-2273

Interlibrary Loan: (814) 732-2946

Library: News & Events

University Winter Weather Announcements (also call 814-732-BORO)

Other libraries in the area.

Take a break!

Take a walk.....

Who could imagine a bubble artist?