This is the "EBSCOhost Article Databases" page of the "How To Search EBSCOhost Databases for Articles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How To Search EBSCOhost Databases for Articles  

EBSCO is a complier of electronic databases which access magazine and journal articles. Their collection is called EBSCOhost. They are the largest electronic article database collection in the Baron-Forness Library.
Last Updated: Apr 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.edinboro.edu/database Print Guide RSS Updates

EBSCOhost Article Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Baron-Forness Library

Artist Robert Crawford

 

Before You Start Searching

Create an account to save your work
     To use the EBSCO databases to their maximum, create an account.  This allows you  to save your searches, articles, images, etc., as well as create alerts when new material is added to an existing search.  You can create folders and access them anytime wherever you login.  Now you have the articles in an electronic format and can cut and paste as you do your papers. If you don’t have an account, any searches you save to a folder will be lost once the session is ended.  There is no cost to an account.

  1.  Once you have opened a database, click on Sign In To My EBSCOhost.
  2.  Click on I’m a new user.
  3.  Fill  in the information.  Your username and password are your choice.  Choose something you won’t forget.  Submit your application.
  4.  For more information, find a link to their online training videos from this box for more features.


Other ways to save articles
     Once you have found an article, you may save it to a disk, your S:drive,  or a USB Flash Drive.  EBSCO allows you to e-mail the articles to yourself and/or others.  You then can access them electronically.  You may always print your articles

 

Welcome

     EBSCO is a publisher of electronic databases of books and journal articles.  They call their software platform EBSCOhost.  Neither EBSCO or EBSCOhost are a database or the name of any particular database. The EBSCO databases constitute the bulk of our offerings by the Baron-Forness Library. The largest academic database in their collection is Academic Search Complete.    Academic Search Complete (ASC) will be the example of their databases for this guide. All EBSCO databases can be accessed on campus or remotely by Edinboro students, staff and faculty. 

     Go to the Library Home Page: Click on Find Articles.  From Find Articles, choose Academic Search Complete.  From here you can add any of the other EBSCOhost databases to your search. Databases, including non-textual ones, are all listed on the All E-Resources A-Z page.  To search by subject area click on E-Resources by Subject  

     If you are off campus, once you've clicked on a resource, you will be taken to a screen like the following.

Logging-in
 
Method #1 - Library ID Logon (left box)
     For Library Barcode/Identifition: Enter your first initial (NOT case sensitive), all eight (8) digits of your EUP ID# (do NOT enter the @ symbol), and the first initial of your last name (NOT case sensitive). 
For Last Name: Enter your last name.
     Please Note:  Your "EUP ID#" is your student number issued to you by Edinboro University.  You must be currently enrolled to access these resources!
      Example: If your name is Joan Smith and your ID is @00123456, the library identification you would type in would be: j00123456s

Method #2 - Username/Password Logon (right box)
From the drop-down list of  institutions, select Edinboro University of PA. Enter the username and password you use to access the campus network. Note: if you haven't logged-on to the campus network recently and/or you're not sure of your password, you may need to reset your password and/or have your entire account reset at the HelpDesk in Ross Hall.

If you have any questions or continue experiencing problems accessing a resource remotely, please contact the Information Desk at (814) 732-2253.

 

Where's that Article?

A typical question we receive goes something like this: "I found an article that interests me but I don't see the text.  Can you help me find it?"

All databases strive to provide access to the full-text of an article, but only if a publisher or copyright holder grants it.  If a link to the text is not available, click on a link that says "Find it @EUP."  In some cases, our full text is provided directly by the publisher; it may be in another database, or it may only be within our print journal collection.  And in some cases, no text is available at all.  In which case you will be presented with the option of requesting the article via Interlibrary Loan.  Our ILL service is very very fast; in some cases we can have your article in less than a day.  Use it!  It's free (with few exceptions) and we are constantly updating this service to be as quick as possible.

 

Need More Help?

For additional assistance, consult a professional librarian at the Information Desk or:

  • Phone (814) 732-2253 for Reference, Information.
  • E-Mail  If you don't wish to use the form, our e-mail address is refdesk@edinboro.edu
  • You can IM us by going to the Library Home Page during staffed hours.

Hints when using IM with our librarians.

  1. We will answer as fast as we can. Often we are working with other patrons when the IM comes in, so give us some time to answer you. Please don't log off a few seconds after you send the message
  2. Some times we are helping others away from the desk, so again, please give us time.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip