This is the "Archives" page of the "Edinboro University Archives and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Edinboro University Archives and Special Collections   Tags: archives, edinboro_archives, special_collections, university_archives  

University Archives material contains documents and other items produced by university offices or related to the university. Special collections consists of rare or otherwise unique items.
Last Updated: Sep 22, 2010 URL: http://libguides.edinboro.edu/eup_archives Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Archives Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

University Archives

ARCHIVES

What is the University “Archives”?
      University Archives material contains documents and other items produced by university offices or related to the university. This is a collection of non-current materials such as minutes, publications, self-studies and similar items.

Where is University Archives?
     The bulk of the collections are located on the seventh floor. Popular items such as yearbooks, faculty evaluations, course catalogs, and student news-papers are available in the Special Collections room, also on the seventh floor.

Does the University Archives have a Web page?
     Yes. You can access further information about University Archives by going to:
http://www.edinboro.edu/departments/library/archives/page_one.dot

How do I get access to items in the Archives?
     The materials in the Archives are accessible through the Holdings of the University Archives of the archives homepage (http://www.edinboro.edu/departments/library/archives/frames2.html) or the EUP Archive Digital Reading Room link (http://www.edinboro.edu/departments/library/archives/eupDigital.html). Once you find a reference to material you want to see, you need to contact the Archives’ Office (814-732-2415) to make arrangements.

What are the key content areas?
     There are several key content areas.

Documents
     Documents and other items produced by university offices or related to the university. This is a collection of non-current materials such as minutes, publications, self-studies and so on.

Evaluations
     Past student evaluations of faculty are housed in Special Collections and may be seen during open hours. The most recent evaluations can be found in the Reserves section of the library.

Edinboro Digital Initiative, A Cooperative Catalogue  
     Displays and catalogs from the Edinboro Archives, the Goodell Gardens and Homestead, and the Edinboro Area Historical Society.

Photographs and Slides

     Two fine collections of photographs are also a part of the archival collection. These are the Lawrence Kupper Collection and the Russell Wood Collection. Kupper was a turn of the century Edinboro photographer and member of the schools’ Board of Trustees. Russell Wood was a long time employee of Edinboro who photographed the campus in the 1960’s and 1970’s.

Genealogical material

     Genealogical research material is limited. Some brief information may be found on former students and employees. The sources in this collection do not adequately cover former residents of Edinboro or Erie County

Where can I go for further information?
      You may contact the Erie County Historical Society on 419 State St., Erie, PA., 814-454-1813. The Erie County Genealogical Society may also be reached there.


 

Need More Help?

For additional assistance, consult a professional librarian at the Information Desk or:

  • Phone (814) 732-2253 for Reference, Information.
  • E-Mail  If you don't wish to use the form, our e-mail address is refdesk@edinboro.edu
  • Instant Messaging (IM): For AIM, our user-name is: BF Library
  • If you don't have AIM, you can IM us by going to the Library Home Page

Hints when using IM with our librarians.

  1. We will answer as fast as we can. Often we are working with other patrons when the IM comes in, so give us some time to answer you. Please don't log off a few seconds after you send the message
  2. Some times we are helping others away from the desk, so again, please give us time.
  3. We're sorry, but many of us don't know all the IM abbreviations.

My Profile

Profile Image
John Rosenhamer
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
Baron-Forness Library
Edinboro University of Pennsylvania
(814) 732-1704
Send Email
 

Baron-Forness Library

Artist Robert Crawford

 

How Am I doing?

Looking for feedback.  Any comments and suggestions are more than welcome.  Thanks in advance!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip